Red Pepper Curry

So I am pretty much obsessed with curry – Thai, Japanese, Indian…I love them all! I’ve made a good half dozen curries this year but none of them really turned out as awesome as I wanted but I think I am slowly getting there! I’m proud to present a curry that I would give 6.5/10 on the JT-scale. I am very critical in critiquing my own food so anything 6 or above is good. I don’t think I’ve ever gave something a 10 because it simply has to be flawless in it’s presentation, texture and taste. It has to be so good that you’d eat it every day for a year. I’d probably give my cheesecakes an 8.5 because they are damn delicious! 😉 That’s about as high is it gets haha For something that doesn’t really use anything unhealthy this curry is really yummy though :p

This curry has an onion-red pepper base that’s thickened with almonds and flavored with a variety of spices and finished with fresh parsley, coriander, parsley, lemon and raisins. You will find the paste is fairly spicy but don’t freak out too much because it’s going to mellow out by the end. My parents will eat it so it can’t be too spicy. The red pepper and aromatic spices lend a nice savory flavor and are balanced nicely with some raisins and fresh herbs. My main critique would have to be that the paste is a bit grainy – probably from the almonds. It’s not bad, it’s just different I guess. Anyone know how to fix this problem? Overall, it’s pretty delicious though!

All the beautiful ingredients getting ready to be pulverized.

All the beautiful ingredients getting ready to be turned into that luscious orange curry paste.

Curry Paste getting fried

Curry Paste getting fried

Red Pepper Curry

Red Pepper Curry

Red Pepper Curry

  • Servings: 4
  • Difficulty: Fairly Easy
  • Print

Curry Paste

  • 2 Red Peppers, de-seeded and roughly chopped
  • 1/2 red Onion, roughly chopped
  • 1 inch cube ginger, chopped
  • 5 Cloves of Garlic, crushed
  • 1 tsp Ground Coriander
  • 2 tsp Ground Cumin
  • 1/2 tsp Turmeric
  • 70g Almonds
  • Pinch of Cayenne
  • Good pinch of Salt

Sauce

  • 1 tbsp Vegetable Oil
  • 1lb Chicken, cut into pieces
  • 300 mL Chicken Stock
  • 1/2 of Lemon, juiced
  • Salt and pepper, to taste
  • 1 Tbsp Fresh Coriander, chopped
  • Sprinkle of Fresh Parsley, chopped
  • Handful of Raisins

Directions

  1. Add all paste ingredients to a food processor and process to a smooth paste.
  2. Over medium heat, add some oil to a large pan. Fry the paste for 10 minutes, stirring occasionally.
  3. Add the chicken, stir and cook for 10 minutes.
  4. Add the chicken stock and bring up to a boil.
  5. Reduce heat to low and simmer uncovered for 15 minutes then remove from heat.
  6. Add lemon juice, fresh coriander, parsley and raisins.
  7. Serve immediately and enjoy over rice, vegetables or whatever ails you!

Thanks for visiting. Feel free to comment below!

Be sure to follow me on Facebook!

Leave a Reply

