Adventures with Ina Garten: Frozen Key Lime Pie and More…

Barefoot Contessa is probably my favorite cooking show. If you’ve never seen it before it’s basically about this fluffy middle-aged woman living in the Hampton’s cooking for her friends and family. See figure 1. The show is sometimes so ridiculous that it’s laughable but it also has a certain charm (and lots of good food!) that keeps you coming back.

Figure 1. Ina Garten - The Barefoot Contessa

Figure 1.
Ina Garten – The Barefoot Contessa

I binge watch like 2 hours every night (finals are over YASSS! lol) so I always go to sleep with like 50 things I want to cook. This week I made: asian noodle salad, asian salmon and frozen key lime pie (all Ina inspirations).

Asian Noodle Salad

Asian Noodle Salad

For this I followed Ina’s recipe almost exactly, except I did fry off some chicken with a bit of soy sauce. It wasn’t my favorite recipe of all time but it was a nice healthy meal. I think I’d soak the vegetables in a bit of soy sauce just to make the veggies pop. This next recipe isn’t Ina’s but it was inspired by her. I just wanted to make it a bit differently. I give you Asian Salmon, baked in foil! I just served it over rice and vegetables. I wish there was more sauce but my salmon was 1/2lb too big so maybe I should have made more, otherwise this recipe turned out great. Asian Salmon You know me, I have a huge sweet tooth and appreciation for all things cake, pastry or pie. My favorite thing I made this week was a Frozen Key Lime Pie. I just used regular old limes since that’s all I could find and it turned out great! Frozen Key Lime Pie

Frozen Key Lime Pie

  • Servings: 6-8
  • Time: 30 Minutes + Time to Freeze
  • Difficulty: Easy
  • Print
Ingredients: Crust:

  • 1 1/2 C Graham Crackers (1pkg/10 crackers)
  • 1/4 C Sugar
  • 1/4 C Pecans
  • 6 T Unsalted Butter, melted (3/4 Stick)

Filling:

  • 6 Extra-Large Egg Yolks, at room temperature
  • 1/4 C Sugar
  • 1 Can Sweetened Condensed Milk (14 oz.)
  • 2 T Lime Zest
  • 3/4 C Fresh Lime Juice (4-8, depending how juicy)

Topping:

  • 1 C Heavy Cream, cold (1/2 pint)
  • 1/4 C Sugar
  • 1/4 t Vanilla Extract

Directions:

  1. Preheat the oven to 350°F.
  2. Combine Graham Crackers, sugar and pecans in a food processor. Pulse until begins to get powdered. Turn it on and stream in the melted butter. Press into a 9-in pie pan.
  3. Bake for 10 minutes. Allow to cool.
  4. For the filling, add the egg yolks and sugar to a mixer and beat on high (with paddle) for about 5 minutes until creamy.
  5. On low speed, beat in the remaining filling ingredients.
  6. Pour into baked pie shell and freeze until firm. Maybe 2hrs or overnight.
  7. For the topping, add the heavy cream to a mixer and beat on high with whisk attachment until soft peaks form.
  8. Add sugar and vanilla. Beat until firm.
  9. Spread over frozen pie and freeze again.
  10. Note: you’re technically eating raw eggs. If you’re susceptible (child, elder, pregnant) then pasteurize your eggs beforehand. Heat the egg yolks over a bain-marie until it reaches exactly 160°F.

Comments, questions, food suggestions? Leave a message below! Be sure to follow me on Facebook and WordPress to keep updated!

Leave a Reply

