Montréal-Style NY Steaks

My family has never been huge on steak (probably because my mom does most of the shopping). I’ve also had my own personal conflicts with eating meat due to animal abuse, disease and environmental sustainability. But all moral dilemmas aside, I honestly forgot how delicious a big fat juicy dead rotting cow carcass, crusted with herbs and spices and grilled to perfection, can be! This is pretty much me now:

fa1ac10c395b0d9d7f88e78cd9381611ef23fd5016c95833240114d062cab874

So what exactly is Montréal-Style steak? I’m not really sure, I just borrowed a recipe off the internet and tweaked it a bit to my own liking. Here’s purty picture (sorry I realize I should have sliced it and took pictures too but I was too hungry):

IMG_7339

Montréal-Style Steak

  • Servings: 4
  • Time: 20 Minutes
  • Difficulty: Fairly Easy
  • Print

Ingredients:

  • 4 New York Steaks, about room temperature
  • 1 T Sweet Paprika
  • 1 T Crushed Black Pepper
  • 1 T Fine Sea Salt
  • 1/2 T Garlic Powder
  • 1/2 T Onion Powder
  • 1/2 T Dill, fresh (crushed works fine too)
  • 1/2 T Crushed Red Pepper Flakes

Directions:

  1. Preheat your grill on medium heat for 5-10 minutes.
  2. Mix together all the herbs and spices in a bowl.
  3. Thoroughly coat all sides of your steaks with the rub from previous step.
  4. Cook for 7 minutes on each side. Check the internal temp is about 140°F (medium-rare). You can cook more or less to your liking.
  5. Place on a plate and loosely tent with tinfoil. Rest the steaks for 5 minutes so when you slice them all the juices aren’t lost.

Comments, questions, food suggestions? Leave a message below!

Be sure to follow me on Facebook and WordPress for more fat cow food 🙂

Leave a Reply

