Pesto-Prosciutto Chicken and Penne Arrabbiata

On occasion I like to just cook, no recipe attached. This is one of those days. I’ll tell you what I did and you can take it and go off on your own with it.

IMG_7381

First, I thawed some chicken breasts in the microwave and then butterflied them. Add some chunks of hard Italian cheese (I used pecorino) and nuts (I used sunflower seeds) in a food processor. Process until it becomes powdery. Add in a good handful of fresh basil, along with a good pinch of salt and pepper and a splash of fresh lemon juice. Turn on the processor and slowly stream in olive oil until it becomes the consistency you like. Season the chicken with salt/pepper. Stuff the chicken with pesto and wrap in prosciutto or bacon – whatever you have on hand. Bake at 350°F for about 30 minutes or until the chicken is not pink and a meat thermometer registers 165°F.

Prosciutto Pesto Chicken | Fat Cow Food Blog

For the pasta, I sauteed some garlic and red pepper flakes in olive oil. I added some tomato sauce and when it’s heated up I added some pecorino cheese and fresh basil and tossed it all with penne. I just cut the squash into rondelles and sauteed them in butter/oil until lightly browned. Just seasoned them with salt and pepper.

IMG_7396

I also made some Lemon-Thyme Bars, see the external link for the recipe. They were pretty good but also super rich and messy. It makes a lot too! Goes great with a some ice cream or as a small dessert after a big dinner to sate your sweet tooth.

Leave a Reply

